Pakistan poll body suspends 261 lawmakers

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday suspended the membership of 261 lawmakers of the national and provincial assemblies and Senate for not submitting statements of assets and liabilities.

The suspended parliamentarians include Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s (PML-N) Mohammad Safdar, estranged Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MNA Ayesha Gulalai, Talal Chaudhry, Religious Affairs Minister Sardar Yousaf and former National Assembly speaker Fehmida Mirza.

The ECP’s notification shows that seven senators, 71 members of the National Assembly, 84 Punjab Assembly members, 50 Sindh Assembly members, 38 Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa members and 11 Balochistan lawmakers have been suspended.

  • author's avatar

    By: KN Web Desk

    No biography available at this time

  • author's avatar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.